Famous architecture

In the streets of San Pedro Arriba, Santo Domingo, La Raya, San Juan, San Pedro Abajo and El Calvario there are several interesting buildings, as well as in the district of Agache, where the Casa del Cura on the Avenida de Bayón, the farmhouse of Aguerche (El Escobonal) and the Casa de la Raya, also called Casa de Vargas because of its founder, are located.

Chapel of San Pedro Arriba

This chapel is located in the neighborhood of San Pedro Arriba, near the Buen Retiro Hotel and the famous Lavaderos. The square floor also has walls, some of them are covered with frescoes. It has a small picture of the Apostle San Pedro, a work of the sculptor Ezequiel de León Domínguez.

Chapel of San Pedro Abajo

This small chapel is located in the lower part of Güímar and consists of masonry and Arabic tiles. Especially his entrance attracts the attention of its visitors.

Chapel of San Juan

The hermitage of San Juan Bautista was built around 1534. The temple is single-nave and gives the Plazoneta its name. After some renovations, the works of art, the altarpiece, the paintings, the pulpit and the arch and the frescoes on the walls have been preserved as interesting works of art. Nearby is a Calvary where the Christ of Decline or the Black Christ as popularly known is housed.

Pyramids of Güímar

The Ethnographic Park "Pirámides de Güímar" was founded in 1998 by the renowned Norwegian explorer Thor Heyerdahl, who was responsible for the protection of the pyramids on the basis of a city plan. He has created the Ethnographic Park to ensure its exploration and preservation. On more than 64,000 m² you can discover the pyramid complex, the museum, the auditorium, several outdoor routes and large gardens.

Mansion of Santo Domingo

The Casona de Santo Domingo is one of the most unique buildings in the old town of Güímar. Its original structure dates back to the 16th century. All rooms overlook a central courtyard that retains the special charm of the Canarian courtyards and the unique Teabalkon (the heart of the Canarian pine).

The Taro

Near the Cueva del Chinguaro, there is a cylindrical tower with its octagonal upper part with large windows used for monitoring the soil and storing agricultural equipment. Its name comes from the natives of the island, who called their towers "Tarek".

Cave of Chinguaro

This cave was the residence of Mencey Acaymo. The Virgin of El Socorro was brought to this place after her appearance on the beach of Chimisay and stayed there for 54 years. The cave and its surroundings became an archaeological park, including a visitor center, a museum, an Ermita and pilgrimage shrine. The first step in consolidating this project has already taken place with the approval of the special plan of the Barranco de Chinguaro.

Beach of El Socorro

The beach of el Socorro, also called Chimisay, is located in the southeast of Güímar and extends to the entrance of the Malpaís of Güímar. According to the story, around 1392 the image of the Virgin of El Socorro appeared on this beach when Mencey Acaymo ruled. A cross today indicates the location of these events. The nearby Ermita, built in the mid-16th century, has been declared a historical and artistic monument.

Monastery of Santo Domingo

This monastery was built to protect the Virgen de Candelaria from a possible pirate attack. In 1777 it burned and was restored. With the confiscation of Mendizabal (1835) the monastery belonged to the city council. With a latin cross plan, it houses the figure of Santo Domingo de Guzmán, made by the sculptor Luján Pérez and two carvings of San Antonio Abad, as well as Nuestra Señora del Rosario of Rodríguez de Oliva.

Mills of Chacaica

Through this construction, the water moved, and therefore stones that milled corn and wheat to preserve Gofio.

Church of San Pedro Apóstol

This church was built onto the early church of San Pedro de El Tanque (year 1621). It consists of three naves and stone walls. Inside you can see a neoclassical silver front, a silver goblet from Mexico, paintings by López Ruiz covering the back and ceiling of the high altar, paintings by the Estévez school, the Virgen del Socorro from 1630 and the picture attributed to San Pedro Rodríguez de la Oliva.

The Lavaderos

The Lavaderos are located in the San Pedro Arriba neighborhood, near the San Pedro Arriba chapel and near the Buen Retiro hotel.

Ancient Hotel Buen Retiro

The “Buen Retiro” was the residence of the Marquess of Florida and became a tuberculosis patient hotel at the end of the 19th century. On one side of the building there is the chapel "Nuestra Señora de Belén", built in the 19th century. The building was sold by the heirs of the property to a private individual a few years ago.